WalCoSunday2016   StatelineNewsLogo2017   MessengerLogo2016


Wednesday, 16 August 2017 13:47

Walker requests SBA declare disaster area for flood-damaged counties

Written by  CSI Media Staff

MADISON – Gov. Scott Walker today requested the U.S. Small Business Administration declare Kenosha, Racine, and Walworth counties a disaster area due to damage caused by widespread flooding last month, according to a release from the governor’s office. An SBA disaster declaration would provide low-interest loans to eligible individuals and businesses affected by the floods.



“The July floods caused damage to many homes and businesses in southeast Wisconsin and that’s why we’re reaching out to SBA for assistance,” Governor Walker said in the release. “We’re going to do all we can to help the families and business owners who were affected, and I thank everyone who was involved in the response and recovery efforts.”


Overnight on July 11, 2017, more than eight inches of rain fell in southeast Wisconsin causing flash flooding. The flood waters impacted thousands of homes and businesses, closed major roads and bridges, damaged dams and other infrastructure, and caused the Fox River to rise to a record flood stage in Burlington in Racine County and New Munster in Kenosha County. There were no serious injuries.


A preliminary damage assessment conducted by the SBA, Federal Emergency Management Agency, Wisconsin Emergency Management and emergency management directors from the affected counties found  Wisconsin would not meet the threshold for FEMA’s Individual Assistance Program. However, the initial assessment indicated the State of Wisconsin would be eligible for SBA assistance.


The request also includes the contiguous counties of Jefferson, Milwaukee, Rock, and Waukesha.



Place An Ad

Placing an ad online is easy, just click here to get started!

Latest Jobs at Walworth County Careers


afcp new

paperchain new