WalCoSunday2016   StatelineNewsLogo2017   MessengerLogo2016


Tuesday, 21 February 2017 12:16

Boys basketball last to join postseason competitions

Written by 

Boys basketball teams in the Badger State finally enter the March Madness fray next week. Here is a look at where Stateline area squads begin their postseason runs:

Wisconsin boys basketball

The madness begins with regional tournaments for boys basketball across the Badger State with regionals on Feb. 28 and March 3-4.

Sectional competitions in all five divisions are scheduled March 9 and March 11.

Those who survive will reach the Kohl Center for the state tournament, which is set for March 16-18.

Area teams in Division 1 are lumped into the 18-team Sun Prairie Sectional, a field that includes fellow Big Eight heavyweights Madison Memorial and Middleton, not to mention Muskego and the Kenosha schools.

However, Janesville Craig and Beloit Memorial have been pleasant surprises and have battled at the top of the league all season.

The other two Stateline teams are Badger and Janesville Parker.

Beloit Memorial grabbed the best spot among Stateline teams with the fifth seed, while Craig was right behind with the sixth seed. The Purple Knights host 12th seeded Verona, while the Cougars entertain Oconomowoc, the 11th seed, both on March 3.

Parker is the 18th seed and travels to 15th seeded Madison La Follette on Feb. 28, with the winner going to second-seeded Madison Memorial.

Badger is seeded 17th and visits Tremper, the 16th seed. The victor travels to top-seeded Sun Prairie.

In D-2, Delavan-Darien, Southern Lakes rivals Elkhorn and Burlington and Milton of the Badger South are among the 11 teams on one side of the Middleton Sectional, which has highly ranked Waunakee and Stoughton in the opposite bracket.

The Elks earned the No. 4 seed and open March 3 at home against fifth-seeded Union Grove. The winner likely travels to top-seeded Westosha Central in the next round.

Burlington grabbed the third seed and awaits the winner of sixth-seeded Delavan-Darien and 11th seed Milton, who tangle on Feb. 28.

Meanwhile, Big Foot, East Troy, Evansville, Beloit Turner, Whitewater, Clinton, Brodhead, Palmyra-Eagle and Edgerton will battle in a 14-team free-for-all in the Division 3 Waunakee Sectional.

Turner is the third seed and hosts 14th seed Palmyra-Eagle, with the winner meeting sixth-seeded East Troy or No. 11 seed Big Foot in the second round. Second-seeded Evansville gets the winner of seventh-seeded Edgerton or Clinton, the 10th seed.

On the other side, Whitewater is the eighth seed and hosts ninth-seeded Marshall. The winner travels to top-seeded Lake Mills. Brodhead settled for the 13th seed and visits fourth-seeded Edgewood.

Parkview is the lone area squad in the D-4 competitions, where it will play in the Baraboo Sectional.

The Vikings are the 11th seed and go to sixth-seeded Iowa-Grant, with the victor traveling to third-seeded Deerfield.

In D-5, Faith Christian, Williams Bay and defending state runner-up Catholic Central are in one side of the Watertown Sectional.

The season will end Feb. 28 for either eighth-seeded Catholic Central or ninth-seeded Faith Christian because they battle in the opener. Meanwhile, Williams Bay is the 11th seed and visits sixth-seeded Sheboygan Area Lutheran.



Place An Ad

Placing an ad online is easy, just click here to get started!

Latest Jobs at Walworth County Careers


afcp new

paperchain new